Captain Marvel

capt marvel 3

Admittedly there’s been a lot of controversy Captain Marvel’s film debut, much like there was over last year’s release of Black Panther . I’ve heard plenty of reviews going into this, but as always I try going into everything with an open mind, so with that being said, how was the first female lead Marvel film?

Carol Danvers was a young woman who seemingly died in a test plane accident; this was not fully the case. Her memories nearly wiped clean and with powers she can’t fully understand, she was rescued by the Kree and drafted into Star Force, trained as a soldier to protect the greater good in a intergalactic war between the Kree and the devious, shape shifting Skrull. During a conflict between the two, she crashes on Earth during the 90’s where she meets a young Nick Fury of S.H.I.E.L.D who gets drafted into her hunt for the Skrull as her memories unfold and her allegiances are tempted as she discovers herself and her true power…

First, I have to say I disagree with almost every review of this I’ve seen. It’s a fun movie with some issues. I liked Brie Larson as Marvel and I thought she had had a overall good character arc through the movie. Sam Jackson steals the show as a young Fury, followed closely by Goose the Cat. The acting is overall solid. The soundtrack and score are pretty good. The effects are great but the opening battle isn’t filmed very good, too dark, and it was hard as hell to track. I wasn’t a fan of the first act of the movie, but it picks up once you get to Earth. After seeing it, a problem I feel is I think it’s misplaced in the MCU; I feel if it was placed in Phase 2 it would’ve fit better- I feel her character would have benefited from more time and development with the story at play. Now, what irked me, Sniper, and I’m sure will piss off most hard core Marvel fans I can’t spoil but if you are a stickler for Marvel lore it will piss you off. Hopefully to counter balance, the Stan Lee tribute in the beginning did almost make us cry a little. In the end, Captain Marvel was a fun movie, certainly not legendary but certainly not worth many of the poor reviews I’ve seen. May the gaming gods bring you glory.

Author: torstenvblog

Writer of the strange and everything; lover of horror, literature, comics, and the alien is my spirit animal

4 thoughts on “Captain Marvel”

Leave a Reply