Mighty No. 9 (first impressions)

mighty no 9

Mega Man. Beloved gaming icon who sadly I have 0 experience with, that’s more of Savor’s realm. Months ago Mighty No. 9 was a free PSN game, and curiosity got me after the host of negative reviews I’ve heard about this damn game and I tried it. I’ve played Dark Souls 2 Scholars of the First Sin and I’ve played Alien: Isolation, all hard ass games, but neither of them made me rage quit after half an hour. From the get go, I felt moving feels slow and jumping feels heavier than it should. That was a red flag but soon, in the tutorial, I started having issues with the high jump weirdly enough and the instruction flashed quicker while others lingered longer.

So essentially, Beck the 9th of these robots has to go and fight the other 8 that have gone wayward. You can go to any stage in order, which is cool. I tried 2 stages and both have a strange issue: they get hit with bitches of difficulty spikes. The game goes from being easy as hell to stupidly hard in a instant. A lot of times I didn’t feel it was being hard as much as it was being a dick; I can’t say I’ve had a death where I feel it was deserved as much as a bullshit death. Also you have limited lives before you have to restart the whole level again, becoming the ultimate rage cap. I’m determined to beat at least a stage just to say I did but I can tell you, DON’T  play this if you have anger management problems, you may break your TV. May the gaming gods bring you glory.

Author: torstenvblog

Writer of the strange and everything; lover of horror, literature, comics, and the alien is my spirit animal

One thought on “Mighty No. 9 (first impressions)”

Leave a Reply